Friday Link Roundup #14

We know the name of Andy Serkis’ character in The Force Awakens: Supreme Leader Snoke. Well… it’s no Sheev.

What do you meeeeean San Andreas isn’t scientifically accurate?

Kristy’s assessment of why Wonder Woman is a bad movie for Chris Pine is spot-on.

I Fooled Millions Into Thinking Chocolate Helps Weight Loss. Here’s How. is a great read over on io9 about junk science and the media. Still gonna eat a ton of chocolate, though.

The Best YouTube Is “Medieval Music” YouTube (The Toast)

The first four paragraphs of this piece about a woman coming to terms with the geekery of her daughter is a full-on condescending wince-fest.

THR’s list of 50 of the worst movie titles of all time is a playful jaunt through the world of WTF. How did I never know Santa with Muscles is a thing?

One thought on “Friday Link Roundup #14

  1. Nolan says:

    Oh San Andreas… I probably would’ve given you a shot, had I not [i]just[/i] completed a geology course the day before your ad campaign started.

    As for the Mom and her geeky daughter, my counterpoint is on Twitter. I still don’t think it’s that bad. That she’s accepted her daughter for who she is, is a victory. That she still has an attitude of looking down on those intrests despite that should be expected. Lifetime beliefs do take time to change. Heck those first paragraphs might also be her expressing how she used to feel (which you probably already guessed).

    I dunno, I think I’m just bothered when judgements are made on a person based on what is really the readers’ interpretation of the writers words. You don’t do that often Rebecca, and its one of the things I respect you as a journalist/blogger for, but it happens so often online with others. Course I’m being a bit of a hypocrite, since, unless there is clear vitriol and hatred evident, I tend to give everyone the benefit of the doubt, so I’m putting my own views onto what I read. *shrug* I’ll get off my soapbox now, shall I?

    And just to be clear, my disagreement with you does not mean I think you’re wrong. It’s your blog, you’ll write what you want, I just hope I’m not out of line offering a disagreeing view sometimes. It fosters discussion, right?

    Like

Leave a Reply

